Organization


Virginia’s Industrial Advancement Alliance represents a region of five counties and one city.  Branding the region as ‘Virginia’s I81-I77 Crossroads’, an area stretching from Carroll County to Smyth County along Interstates 81 and 77, the organization membership consist of Smyth, Wythe, Grayson, Carroll and Bland counties, and the City of Galax. 

VIAA was formed as a non-profit multi-jurisdictional Regional Economic Development Organization (REDO) to conduct outreach marketing, prospect development, project management and work with its six localities to support and enhance their economic development efforts. It is one of eighteen REDOs in the commonwealth of Virginia.

VIAA is financed by its member localities based on population, as well as voluntary private sector funding. The organization is served by a board of directors with representatives from local governments, private sector, and community colleges.

*Note: Cities in Virginia are independent cities, which have their own governing bodies and are administratively independent of any county. Of 42 independent cities in the United States, 39 are in Virginia.

Board & Officers


* Member, Executive Committee

Executive Director

Joshua M. Lewis

Executive Director

VIAA

1000 E Main Street Grayson Hall Wytheville, VA 24382

(276) 223-4726

jlewis@viaalliance.org

Chairman

*Eric R. Workman, Ed.D.

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Bland County

P.O. Box 510 Bland, VA 24315

(276) 688-4622 (B)

eworkman@bland.org

Vice Chairman

*Keith E. Barker

City Manager

Local Government Director

Galax

111 East Grayson Street Galax, VA 24333

(276) 236-3441

kbarker@GalaxVa.com

 

Treasurer

*Stephen Bear

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Wythe County

340 South Sixth Street Wytheville, VA 24382-2598

(276) 223-4500

sbear@wythecova.com

*Shawn Utt

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Smyth County

121 Bagley Circle Suite 100 Marion, VA 24354

276-783-3298 x 8301 (office)

sutt@smythcounty.org

*William Shepley

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Grayson County

P.O. Box 217 Independence, VA 24348

(276) 773-2471

wshepley@graysoncountyva.com

 

*Cellell Dalton

County Administrator

Local Govenment Director

Carroll County

605-1 Pine Street Hillsville, VA 24343

(276) 728-3331

carrolladmin@carrollcountyva.org

David E. Dillow

Local IDA Director

Bland County

P.O. Box 246 Bland, VA 24315

(276) 228-6021

daviddillow@embarqmail.com

David Kause

Local IDA Director

JIDA of Wythe County

Blue Ridge Gatorade 316 Gator Lane Wytheville, VA 24382

(276) 625-3943

david.kause@pepsico.com

 

John McLean

Local IDA Director

Smyth County

 

121 Bagley Circle Marion, VA 24354

(276)783-3298

jmcleanjr@mac.org

Ricky Thomas

Local IDA Director

Carroll County

Carroll County Government Center Hillsville, VA 24343

ricky.thomas@thomasam.com

Ricky Anderson

Local IDA Director

Grayson County

randerson@graysoncountyva.gov

 

John Smolak

Director of Economic Development

Appalachian Power

40 Franklin Rd Roanoke, VA 24011

jjsmolak@aep.com

Jonathan Kruckow

Executive Vice President

Skyline National Bank

jkruckow@skylinenationalbank.com

Grayson Patterson

Vice President 

BB&T 

GSPatterson@BBandT.com

 

Deborah Flippo

Business Development Manager

Draper Aden Associates 

DFlippo@daa.com

Green Faircloth

Sales Representative 

Atmos Energy 

green.faircloth@atmosenergy.com

 

 

Ex Officio Director

Dr. Dean E.Sprinkle

President – WCC

Educational Representative Director

Wytheville Community College

1000 East Main Street Wytheville, VA 24382

(276) 223-4848(B)

dsprinkle@wcc.vccs.edu

Ex Officio Director

Dr. Adam C. Hutchison

VHCC President

Educational Representative Director

VA Highlands Community College

P.O. Box 828 Abingdon, VA 24212

(276) 739-2421

cwhite@vhcc.edu

Ex Officio Director

Aaron Sizemore

Executive Director

PDC Representative

Mount Rogers Planning District Commission

asizemore@mrpdc.org

 

Partners


Public Sector

     

 

 

     

 

 

           

 

 

Private Sector