Organization


Virginia’s Industrial Advancement Alliance represents a population of about 193,000 in five counties and one city in Virginia. Stretching from Carroll County to Bland County along Interstates 81 and 77, the organization include membership of Smyth, Wythe, Grayson, Carroll and Bland counties, and the City of Galax.

VIAA was formed in 1989 as a non-profit multi-jurisdictional economic development partnership, to conduct outreach marketing and work with its six localities to support and enhance their economic development efforts. It is one of fifteen Regional Economic Development Organizations in Virginia.

VIAA is financed by its member localities based on population, as well as voluntary private sector funding. The organization is served by a board of directors with representatives from local governments, private sector, and community colleges.

*Note: Cities in Virginia are independent cities, which have their own governing bodies and are administratively independent of any county. Of 42 independent cities in the United States, 39 are in Virginia.

Board & Officers


* Member, Executive Committee

Executive Director

Joshua M. Lewis

Executive Director

VIAA

P.O. Box 983 Marion, VA 24354

(276) 783-9474

jlewis@viaalliance.org

Chairman

*Eric R. Workman, Ed.D.

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Bland County

P.O. Box 510 Bland, VA 24315

(276) 688-4622 (B)

eworkman@bland.org

VICE CHAIRMAN

*Michael Carter

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Smyth County

121 Bagley Circle Suite 100 Marion, VA 24354

276-783-3298 x 8301 (office) 276-783-9314 (fax)

mcarter@smythcounty.org

 

Secretary

*Keith E. Barker

City Manager

Local Government Director

Galax

111 East Grayson Street Galax, VA 24333

(276) 236-3441

kbarker@GalaxVa.com

TREASURER

*Steven Truitt

County Administrator

Local Govenment Director

Carroll County

605-1 Pine Street Hillsville, VA 24343

(276) 728-3331

carrolladmin@carrollcountyva.org

*William Shepley

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Grayson County

P.O. Box 217 Independence, VA 24348

(276) 773-2471

wshepley@graysoncountyva.com

 

*Stephen Bear

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Wythe County

340 South Sixth Street Wytheville, VA 24382-2598

(276) 223-4500

rcdalton@wythecova.com

David E. Dillow

Local IDA Director

Bland County

P.O. Box 246 Bland, VA 24315

(276) 228-6021

daviddillow@embarqmail.com

David Kause

Local IDA Director

JIDA of Wythe County

Blue Ridge Gatorade 316 Gator Lane Wytheville, VA 24382

(276) 625-3943

david.kause@pepsico.com

 

Harry Dean

Local IDA Director

Smyth County

121 Bagley Circle Marion, VA 24354

(276)783-3298

hldean45@comcast.net

Clinton Willie

Local IDA Director

Carroll County

Carroll County Government Center Hillsville, VA 24343

vcwillie49@gmail.com

Barry Henderson

Senior Vice President

BB&T Bank

 

37 Church Ave SW Roanoke, VA 24011

 

John Smolak

Director of Economic Development

Appalachian Power

40 Franklin Rd Roanoke, VA 24011

 

Ex Officio Director

Dr. Dean E.Sprinkle

President – WCC

Educational Representative Director

Wytheville Community College

1000 East Main Street Wytheville, VA 24382

(276) 223-4848(B)

dsprinkle@wcc.vccs.edu

Ex Officio Director

Dr. Gene Couch, Jr.

VHCC President

Educational Representative Director

VA Highlands Community College

P.O. Box 828 Abingdon, VA 24212

(276) 739-2421

gcouch@vhcc.edu

Ex Officio Director

Aaron Sizemore

Executive Director

PDC Representative

Mount Rogers Planning District Commission

asizemore@mrpdc.org

 

Partners


Public Sector

     

 

 

     

 

 

           

 

 

Private Sector