Virginia’s Industrial Advancement Alliance represents a population of about 193,000 in five counties and one city in Virginia. Stretching from Carroll County to Bland County along Interstates 81 and 77, the organization include membership of Smyth, Wythe, Grayson, Carroll and Bland counties, and the City of Galax.

VIAA was formed in 1989 as a non-profit multi-jurisdictional economic development partnership, to conduct outreach marketing and work with its six localities to support and enhance their economic development efforts. It is one of fifteen Regional Economic Development Organizations in Virginia.

VIAA is financed by its member localities based on population, as well as voluntary private sector funding. The organization is served by a board of directors with representatives from local governments, private sector, and community colleges.

*Note: Cities in Virginia are independent cities, which have their own governing bodies and are administratively independent of any county. Of 42 independent cities in the United States, 39 are in Virginia.

Board & Officers

* Member, Executive Committee

Executive Director

Joshua M. Lewis

Executive Director


P.O. Box 983 Marion, VA 24354

(276) 783-5103


*Eric R. Workman, Ed.D.

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Bland County

P.O. Box 510 Bland, VA 24315

(276) 688-4622 (B)


*Michael Carter

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Smyth County

121 Bagley Circle Suite 100 Marion, VA 24354

276-783-3298 x 8301 (office) 276-783-9314 (fax)



*Keith E. Barker

City Manager

Local Government Director


111 East Grayson Street Galax, VA 24333

(276) 236-3441


*Steven Truitt

County Administrator

Local Govenment Director

Carroll County

605-1 Pine Street Hillsville, VA 24343

(276) 728-3331

*William Shepley

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Grayson County

P.O. Box 217 Independence, VA 24348

(276) 773-2471


*Stephen Bear

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Wythe County

340 South Sixth Street Wytheville, VA 24382-2598

(276) 223-4500

David E. Dillow

Local IDA Director

Bland County

P.O. Box 246 Bland, VA 24315

(276) 228-6021

David Kause

Local IDA Director

JIDA of Wythe County

Blue Ridge Gatorade 316 Gator Lane Wytheville, VA 24382

(276) 625-3943


Harry Dean

Local IDA Director

Smyth County

121 Bagley Circle Marion, VA 24354


Clinton Willie

Local IDA Director

Carroll County

Carroll County Government Center Hillsville, VA 24343

John Smolak

Director of Economic Development

Appalachian Power

40 Franklin Rd Roanoke, VA 24011



Jonathan Kruckow

Executive Vice President

Skyline National Bank

Grayson Patterson

Vice President 


Deborah Flippo

Business Development Manager

Draper Aden Associates

Green Faircloth

Sales Representative 

Atmos Energy



Ex Officio Director

Dr. Dean E.Sprinkle

President – WCC

Educational Representative Director

Wytheville Community College

1000 East Main Street Wytheville, VA 24382

(276) 223-4848(B)

Ex Officio Director

Dr. Charlie White

VHCC President

Educational Representative Director

VA Highlands Community College

P.O. Box 828 Abingdon, VA 24212

(276) 739-2421

Ex Officio Director

Aaron Sizemore

Executive Director

PDC Representative

Mount Rogers Planning District Commission



Public Sector










Private Sector